YCCC: Open Educational Resources OER: Finding Open Educational Resources

Finding OER

Evaluationg OER
Austin Community College
OER Evaluation Criteria
From Affordable Learning Georgia a six component checklist for evaluating OER.
iRubric - Evaluating OER Rubric
Questions to ask about the OER you are thinking of using. This rubric is developed by Sarah Morehouse with help from Mark McBride, Kathleen Stone, and Beth Burns is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Open Textbooks Review Criteria
OER Evaluation Checklist
Adapted from Kirkwood Community College

Merlot
Search Merlot's collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education.
Open Resource Library
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.
Mason OER Metafinder
Launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22* different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
SkillsCommons
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development.

OpenStax
Breaks down barriers to knowledge and education with its free, high-quality, openly licensed textbooks integrated with personalized learning technology.
BCCampus OpenEd
Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats. Search by subject and download them to your computer.
DOAB
Directory of Open Access Books provides 27482 Academic peer-reviewed books from 374 publishers on a large range of subjects.
OER Commons
A repository of open educational resources representing a variety of disciplines.
Open SUNY Textbooks
s an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.
Open Textbook Collection
These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded at no cost, or printed at low cost.
RMIT Digital Collections/OER
This collection includes RMIT-created resources, Open Textbooks and other Open Educational resources not created by RMIT (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology.)
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
InTech
InTech is a pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
Skills Commons
Digital library of Workforce Training Materials. Preparing the Workforce for 21st Century Employment through TAACCCT "
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.

Digital Pulic Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America aggregates more than 14 million items from libraries, archives and museums. Items include text, videos, images and audio.
The Public Domain Project
Hosted by the stock footage company Pond5, this website curates almost 100,000 image, video, audio and 3D model files in the public domain.
Getty Images
Getty Images has more than 100,000 images that are considered open. This search page is set up to include only those images.
Flickr
Flickr allows you to search for images that come with a Creative Commons license. This page is set up for that already, but you can also filter any search by click on "any license" in the upper left corner of the page to choose what license you want.
Visual Hunt
Millions of images that have been licensed with a Creative Commons license.
Internet Archive - Music
Thousands of audio files curated in the Internet Archive. Includes all types of audio files. Check to see if specific ones are licensed to be adapted.
Internet Archive - Movies
This collection features almost 3 million videos archived by the Internet Archive. Check individual collections and movies for copyright status.
TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) Talks
Videos of experts in a multitude of fields giving short talks on a given topic
PBS Video
Public Broadcasting Service

LibriVox
LibriVox has volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then releases the audio files back onto the net for free. All of their audio is in the public domain.
Open Culture
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Includes audiobooks, ebooks, online courses, and more.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks; download them or read them online. Most Project Gutenberg ebooks were previously published; they have been digitized and diligently proofread with the help of thousands of volunteers.

IMSLP
The International Music Score Library Project is a collection of public domain music scores and performance recordings for the music of classical composers

The YCCC Article Databases remain the best place for the YCCC community to access free, scholarly articles.

There are, however, more and more open access journals becoming available. They're made specifically so their content is free, and often vetted just as thoroughly as print journals are.

Digital Commons
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Open Library of Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship. Their publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
Contains over 2 million articles from over 9,000 journals. Contains non-English materials.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar contains links to citations, journal articles, and book chapters. Not everything is freely accessible, but many items with a [PDF] or [Book] tag are!

Science & Math

PhET Interactive Simulations
Interactive simulations for science and math

Anatomy & Physiology

Whitma College Virtual Pig Dissection

Biology

Chemistry

Games

Educational Games

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) promotes the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources.

arXiv.org e-Print archive
A free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,960,509 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv