To get started, click on this tile to create an account. Need help? Come visit the library and I'll walk you through it. Note: The PC in the library always has a tab open to The New York Times website for your immediate use. Bonus: This institutional access includes New York Times Cooking and Wirecutter!
YCCC Main Campus, 2nd floor, in Student Success Commons
112 College Drive | Wells, Maine 04090
M. Wendy West | 207.216.4393 | wwest@mainecc.edu
Call: 207.216.4393
Email: YCCCLibrary@mainecc.edu
Online Help Desk: Use the Ask Us tool on the right-hand side of the page (active Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 4:30pm)
Appointment: Use this online scheduling tool to book a meeting with the librarian
Librarian
M. Wendy West | 207.216.4393 | wwest@mainecc.edu
Materials are available to borrow from a variety of collections: YCCC, libraries across Maine, the CloudLibrary, and across the globe.
MINERVA:
CloudLibrary catalog:
To access digital databases, use the same SSO method you use for logging into Brightspace or your school email account
Questions? Use the Ask Us tool on the right-hand side of the page
Alphabetical list of all YCCC digital research databases
ALL DATABASES: Grouped by Subject
List of all YCCC digital research databases grouped by subject
The video below is a brief introduction to using online research databases.
Use the EBSCO Academic Search Complete tool to browse or search the complete list of online databases by subject
The tool offers Full Text and Peer-Reviewed filters to limit your search results
Full Text: Free access to full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles
What does "full text" mean? "Full text" means the complete article is available online, as opposed to a citation or abstract.
What is an abstract? An abstract is a summary of a longer written document organized in the same way as the original document.
Peer Review: Limit your search to peer-reviewed results if needed
What does "peer-reviewed" mean? To learn more about the peer review process, visit https://authorservices.wiley.com/Reviewers/journal-reviewers/what-is-peer-review/the-peer-review-process.html
Scholarly Material: To learn about reading scholarly journals and articles, visit https://yccc.libwizard.com/f/Reading-and-Understanding-Scholarly-Articles
Use the versatile CREDO Reference tool to:
Easily find background information from reliable sources for a research project
Get research support with features like Mind Map, Quick Tips, Key Concepts, Pro/Con entries, and Summaries
Learn about the research process and how to start a research project
Explore multimedia content related to your research topic
Find documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, trainings, and demonstrations. Includes Closed Captioning and On-Demand Audio Descriptions.
Subject Guides are a great way to start your research with librarian-recommended resources, including websites. Save time searching and get high quality resources, guaranteed!
...or try one of our Course Guides - they are designed for specific assignments in specific classes. Please note: some of these guides may not be up to date. Check with your instructor or the librarian if you have any doubts!
Note: YCCC students are required to use either APA Style, 7th Edition or MLA Style, 9th Edition. Check with your instructor!
Sample papers from the Online Writing Lab (OWL®) at Purdue University
To view a sample American Psychological Association (APA) paper, visit APA Sample Paper
To view a sample Modern Language Association (MLA) paper, visit MLA Sample Paper
To learn more about APA Citation Style - 7th Edition, visit the APA Style Center
To view a list of common APA 7th Edition references, visit APA References at a Glance
To learn more about MLA Citation Style - 9th Edition, visit the MLA Style Center
An up-to-date reference tool for the APA style guide in .pdf: APA 7th Ed. Citation Tip Sheet
An up-to-date reference tool for the MLA style guide in .pdf: MLA 9th Ed. Citation Tip Sheet
