Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architectural & Engineering Design: Course Descriptions

ARC - Architecture Courses

ARC 105 - Interior Design I
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course is designed to provide students with an introduction to interior design and career options in the field. Topics to be covered include design elements and their application to residential and non-residential interiors; the needs survey of the user; choices of materials, furnishing and components used in interior design; and career options, including an overview of the professional preparation required for certification as an interior designer.

ARC 106 - Architecture I
3 credits/3 contact hours
This introductory course focuses on light frame construction techniques specifically related to residential dwellings. The course includes architectural styles, building materials and components, specifications, building codes, and the production of construction drawings. Students will use Revit Architectural software to produce 3D CAD building models and full sets of working drawings for two-story residential structures.

ARC 107 - Introduction to Sustainable Design
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course is a study of sustainable design and green building. Students will learn about rating systems for sustainable buildings such as the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) and other programs. Topics include existing and future green building standards and technology, environmental impacts, site analysis and building orientation, passive and active solar design elements, water conservation, day lighting, energy systems, and innovative design. Prerequisite: ARC 106 or ENG 101

ARC 200 - Topics in Architecture
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course explores a specialized topic in the fields of architecture and construction. Students will learn the fundamentals of the topic, including general principles and concepts, the use and application of materials and tools, and relevant vocabulary. The goal is to increase the student’s awareness of historical and/or current trends in architecture and construction. Prerequisite: ARC 106

ARC 202 - Building Information Modeling
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course builds upon the architectural concepts of ARC 106, including space planning, structural components, kitchens and bathrooms, building codes, and 3D Computer Aided Design (CAD) models using Revit Architecture. Students take a deeper look at the tools of Revit parametric modeling to develop Building Information Models (BIM) with an emphasis on the implementation of BIM concepts throughout the lifecycle of a building, from planning and design, to construction and operations. This is a project-based course where students create a complete set of construction documents in full compliance of industry standards and building codes. Prerequisite: ARC 106

ARC 204 - Integrated Energy Building Design
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course presents building and energy topics that influence the shape of buildings. Utilizing the latest CAD software, students incorporate efficient energy elements into the design and planning process. This class will concentrate on the electrical, plumbing, and heating requirements, and Residential-Check to produce functional drawings in compliance with the International Building Code. The course will integrate sustainable and affordable design concepts according to the U.S Green Building Council. Prerequisite: ARC 202

ARC 205 - Interior Design II
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course provides an in-depth study of design elements for residential and non-residential interiors including: basic design principles; floor plans, furniture and accessories; codes and standards; as well as analyze and resolve design problems; learn appropriate applications of design materials and offer practical presentation techniques. Prerequisite: ARC 105

ARC 207 - Construction Documents
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course explores the various stages of the design/build process. Students will learn about requests for proposals, bids, estimating, contracts, specifications, building codes, and governmental regulations. Emphasis is placed on the use of accurate and complete drawing packages as contractual documents using industry standards such as CSI and AIA. Students work in teams to develop solutions to case studies. By the end of the course, each student will develop a portfolio for an entire design project. Prerequisites: ARC 202 and MAT 127.

ARC 290 - Architecture Internship
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course provides the student an opportunity to integrate classroom theory and knowledge with the daily practices of a work environment of a company in the architecture or building industry. The course is designed to promote professional development by providing challenging and valuable work experience and prepare students for future careers in the architectural design field. In addition to 135 hours working in the field, students will also be required to work with their faculty sponsor and to submit written assignments on a regular basis. Prerequisites: ARC202, a cumulative GPA of 3.0, with at least 30 credits earned in the program of study and permission of the Department Chair.

CAD – Computer Aided Design Courses

CAD 102 - Introduction to CAD
3 credits/3 contact hours
Students are introduced to CAD software to produce technical drawings. Students will learn the necessary commands and functions to create a variety of two-dimensional drawings. The course uses a hands-on approach, with all topics being directly applied in the CAD lab. Students should possess proficient computer skills.

CAD 107 - Solid Modeling I
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course introduces the design concepts of 3-D solid modeling using parametric CAD software. Students will create models with dimensional and geometric constraints, with parametric features. From the 3-D models, the student will create annotated 2-D engineering drawings. This is a hands-on course with all content directly applied in the lab.

CAD 111 - Mechanical Design I
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course introduces concepts and methods for mechanical design, manufacturing and engineering. The course includes an exploration of manufacturing materials, fastener application and representation, dimensioning techniques, welding processes, and symbol application. Students will apply industry and engineering graphics standards to CAD models, annotated parts and assemblies, and engineering drawings. Design projects will be developed using a combination of 2D CAD and 3D solid models. Prerequisite: CAD 107

CAD 115 - Blueprint Reading
3 credits/3 contact hours
This introductory course is designed to develop critical thinking, problem solving, and visual perception skills in the context of technical drawing. Emphasis is on drafting and design standards, based on current ASME and ANSI standards, size description, view location, dimensioning, and the identification of symbols and interpretation of engineering drawings.

CAD 204 - Solid Modeling II
3 credits/3 contact hours
The course focuses on advanced modeling techniques, sheet metal modeling, and engineering drafting. From the 3D models, students will analyze assemblies and develop documentation and presentations. The course is hands-on and project-based with all content directly applied in the lab. Prerequisite: CAD 107

CAD 210 - Computer-Aided Drafting and Design II
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course is designed to develop your critical thinking, problem solving skills, and visual perception with introductory techniques in the context of a technical drawing. This course is designed as a continuation of CAD 102. Emphasis will be placed on dimensioning and tolerancing, groups and details, 3D drawing and modeling, surface modeling and rendering, and solid modeling. Prerequisite: CAD 102

CAD 214 - Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing
‚Äč
3 credits/3 contact hours
In this course students learn the technical language used to describe dimensional and positional information to ensure interchangeability of parts in manufacturing. The content of the course is based on the ASME Y14.5 Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing (GD&T) standards. Students will gain the knowledge to interpret geometric characteristics and feature control symbols on engineering drawings. Prerequisite: CAD115

CAD 220 - CAD Management
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course provides a comprehensive examination of CAD management and is intended for students pursuing careers or those already working in Architectural or Engineering Design. Students will learn the skills required of a CAD manager for creating and enforcing CAD standards, project management, training, interfacing with both CAD users and management, documenting procedures, installing software and configuring CAD systems, data and file management, and creating customized tools. The CAD Management class stresses knowledge of AutoCAD as the base software. Other CAD software includes, but is not limited to, Revit, SolidWorks, Inventor, and CamWorks. Prerequisites: CAD 107 and CAD 210

CAD 251 - 3D Presentation
3 credits/3 contact hours
In this course students will experiment with different methods and techniques for the presentation of project proposals. The emphasis is on digital modeling as an essential tool for design, visualization, and presentation. The fundamental subject matter can be applied to a variety of applications such as consumer products or architectural design. Students will create displays using printed output, display boards, and physical models. Prerequisite: CAD 210 or MUL 125 or WEB 133.

CAD 290 - CAD Internship
3 credits/3 contact hours
This course provides the student an opportunity to integrate classroom theory and knowledge with the daily practices of a work environment of a company that utilizes the drafting and design process. The course is designed to promote professional development by providing challenging and valuable work experience and prepare students for future careers in the drafting and design field. In addition to 135 hours working in the field, students are required to work with their faculty sponsor and to submit written assignments on a regular basis. Prerequisites: CAD 210, a cumulative GPA of 3.0, with at least 30 credits earned in the program of study and permission of the Department Chair.

GIS – Geographical Information Systems Courses

GIS 101 - Introduction to Geographical Information Systems
3 credits/3 contact hours
The intent of this course is to provide the student with a working knowledge of Geographical Information Systems (GIS) and to support this information with lab activities. The lab material will emphasize GIS data collection, entry, storage, analysis, and output using GIS software and available online services such as the U.S. Census Bureau. The focus will be on the creation, analysis and use of GIS spatial data. Prerequisite: Grade C or better in MAT 098 or appropriate Mathematics Placement Exam
score