YCCC: Economics: Websites

Economic Websites

Economic Indicators Overview from Investopedia
A concise explanation of economic indicators with the release date and time, agency name and a link to the latest release.
Resources for Economists from the American Economic Association
Academic and non-academic economic organizations. Data, dictionaries, organizations, job opportunities and more...
Economic Policy Institute
The Economic Policy Institute (EPI), a non-profit, non-partisan think tank, was created in 1986 to broaden discussions about economic policy to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers. EPI believes every working person deserves a good job with fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement security. To achieve this goal, EPI conducts research and analysis on the economic status of working America. EPI proposes public policies that protect and improve the economic conditions of low- and middle-income workers and assesses policies with respect to how they affect those workers.
International Trade Administration from the U.S. Dept. of Commerce
The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements.
Tax Policy Center
TPC provides timely, accessible analysis and facts about tax policy to policymakers, journalists, citizens, and researchers.

Economics - The Basics

Economics for College Students
more...less...
Basic info from the American Economic Association

Statistics in Economics

Statistics can be a valuable information resource for many of your economics projects. However, finding statistical information on the web can be tricky. Fortunately, most government agencies that collect statistical data make that information available online. Here are some top-notch sources for statistics:

FedStats
"Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies." Browse or search thousands of statistical tables maintained by the U.S. government.

Evaluating Web Sites

Asking these questions will help you to determine whether the resources you find are credible and reliable.

Who created the page? Does the person or organization have the appropriate credentials?
Why was this site created? What is the purpose of the site? For example, is it sponsored by a company that has a financial interest in the topic?
When was the page created and/or last updated? How current is the information?
Does the author cite trustworthy sources? How does the author support their argument?

Learn more about evaluating websites or check our handy tipsheet:.Evaluating web sites

Economic Data

Economic Indicators via GPO Access
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

Economic Indicators back to 1948 are made available through FRASER, the Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research.
Economic Indicators from the Federal Reserve Archive 1948-present
This publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers to supply monthly updates related to the economic conditions in the United States, dating back to May 1948. Economic Indicators provides statistical data both in tabular and graphic form and includes information on consumer and producer prices, employment, production, and money and banking. Tables typically display 10 years of annual data with the most recent 12 to 15 months broken out in detail.
Consumer Price Index
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces data on the prices paid by consumers for a representative basket of goods and services. Get current and archived news releases (back to 1994) plus detailed CPI statistics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Provides detailed data on economic activity at the national, regional, industry, and international level. From the U.S. Department of Commerce. Searchable.
Economic Indicators from the U.S. Census Bureau
Current and archived statistics on topics ranging from housing, retail sales and manufacturing.
Economic Census
Provided are tools and information to help businesses respond and learn more about the data.