Library Services

Citations are acknowledgements within a piece of writing that indicate where an idea, information, or quote originated, allowing readers to locate the source and verify the information. When writing an essay or other academic work, you may be asked to cite your sources using APA or MLA. You'll find downloadable resources below, but for more details and resources about each style (like video tutorials and examples!) click here.

• APA 7th Edition Citation Style Guide (Printable PDF)
• APA Style Guideline Example Paper from Purdue OWL® (Downloadable PDF)
• MLA 9th Edition Citation Style Guide (Printable PDF)
• MLA Style Guideline Example Paper from Purdue OWL® (Downloadable PDF)

CREATING A BIBLIOGRAPHY OR WORKS CITED PAGE

Note: Be sure to carefully read your assignment or ask your instructor to ensure you create the correct type of document.

Works Cited/Reference List: A works cited list (MLA) or references list (APA) includes only the sources you directly cited in your paper.

• MLA Formatting: List of Works Cited (video by Purdue Owl)
• APA Formatting: Reference List Basics (video by Purdue Owl)

Bibliography: A bibliography is a list of all the sources used in the process of researching and writing a piece of work, including books, articles, websites, and other materials.

Annotated bibliography: An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents, with each citation followed by a brief (usually 100-300 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation, that informs the reader about the source's relevance, accuracy, and quality. 

• Annotated Bibliography Samples from Purdue OWL®
• What is an Annotated Bibliography? (video by Purdue Owl)

NoodleTools allows you to create and edit MLA and APA-style bibliographies online. Visit YCCC's online library to connect with our librarian for support using NoodleTools for the first time.

• NoodleTools Login
• Step-by-step Guide for Using NoodleTools for Bibliographies (Downloadable PDF)