Veterinary Technology (Julie's original version): Books

Supplies a quick reference that: Identifies common toxins harmful to animals. Provides step-by-step instructions for treatment, supplemented by information in easy-to-read tables. Includes listings of Colleges of Veterinary Medicine, AAVLD accredited veterinary diagnostic laboratories, and state poison control centers.

This is a new edition of a standard reference text, and contains key breed information about cattle, sheep, pigs, goats, horses, donkeys and buffalo. It contains approximately 9,000 entries and cross-references on breeds, sub-breeds, types, varieties, strains and lines of these species. The aim is to include all the livestock names that may be encountered in international literature.

Each entry includes the current recommended English name, region or country of origin, notes on usage, followed by a brief physical description of the breed, in terms of color/markings, horns, and coat type. There is a description of the relationship with other breeds or types, and historical notes about the origin of the breed, plus details of breed societies, and herdbooks where relevant. Finally, foreign names and synonyms are listed, to aid identification.

The book has been thoroughly updated since the 4th edition was published in 1996. Revisions have been undertaken by Valerie Porter, a well-respected author of more popular works on animal breeds.

This is the definitive reference for the small animal practitioner to normal radiographic anatomy of the cat and dog. With over forty years of experience between them, the authors have produced an invaluable reference atlas for the veterinary practitioner. The book is suitable for the general and referral based practitioner, undergraduate or postgraduate veterinary surgeon.

• Over 550 radiographic images analysed and explained
• More than 50 new figures added, with the quality of existing images enhanced
• Revised contents and page headers for easy-reference
• Clear informative line drawings to trace radiographic shadows and schematic drawings of underlying structures not seen in plain radiographs.

Atlas of Small Animal Ultrasonography provides a highly visual guide to the use of diagnostic ultrasound in small animal practice. This up-to-date atlas of the most commonly performed ultrasound examinations is a valuable reference to well-established users of ultrasound as well as those just being introduced to the technology.

Each chapter provides the reader with valuable information on the use of ultrasound diagnostics in small animal veterinary medicine. Taking a systems-based approach, Atlas of Small Animal Ultrasonography is divided into chapters on ultrasound procedures and techniques for examination of all major body parts and systems. Each chapter provides numerous illustrations and ultrasound images to aid the reader in diagnostic interpretation.

Atlas of Small Animal Ultrasonography is an in-depth reference that provides thorough coverage of ultrasound techniques and interpretation. This volume serves as an indispensable guide to the use of this important clinical modality.

Based on the data contained in the four-volume Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, BMDB-9 also includes new genera and species, new combinations, and new taxa published through the January 1992 issue of the IJSB. Users will find short general descriptions that encompass all organisms by Groups; shape and size, Gram reaction, other pertinent morphological features, motility and flagella, relations to oxygen, basic type of metabolism, carbon and energy sources, habitat and ecology. BMDB-9 also includes discussions of difficulties in identification, keys or tables to genera and species, genus descriptions, synonyms, other nomenclatural changes, and numerous illustrations.

The only book of its kind, Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team focuses on the day-to-day duties of the veterinary team. It offers a complete guide to scheduling appointments, billing and accounting, communicating effectively and compassionately with clients, managing medical records, budgeting, marketing your practice, managing inventory, using outside diagnostic laboratory services, and much more. Written by Heather Prendergast, RVT, CVPM, this manual simplifies essential tasks with step-by-step instructions!

• 
  
• Exercises on the Evolve website offer additional practice with front office tasks.
• Interactive working forms give you experience completing sample checks, deposit slips, patient history forms, and incident reports.
• The latest information on electronic banking and tax forms ensures that you adhere to the most current financial guidelines.
• What Would You Do/Not Do boxes provide scenarios to expose you to real-life situations that occur in veterinary practice and guide you through to an appropriate resolution.
• Review questions test your understanding of concepts presented in each chapter.
• Practice Point boxes highlight practical information to remember while on the job.
• Veterinary Practice and the Law boxes provide essential information about laws that you must know in order to run an ethical practice and to protect the practice.
• Key terms and learning objectives guide you through study of the most important content.

Build a strong foundation for understanding how medications may help or potentially harm animals. FUNDAMENTALS OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIANS, 2E, follows a body-systems approach making it easy to correlate basic anatomy and physiology with the drugs used to treat diseases of each body system. A strong foundation of drug administration, pharmacokinetics, measurement systems, as well as drug approval and safety provides the concepts necessary to understand drug actions and safe drug administration. A StudyWARETM CD-ROM accompanies the book which provides additional practice via quizzes or games.

Now in full color, this comprehensive reference provides current information on all parasites commonly encountered in veterinary medicine. Its primary focus is on parasites that infect major domestic species, such as dogs, cats, horses. pigs, and ruminants. This edition also covers organisms that infect poultry, laboratory animals, and exotic species. And with this book's coverage of minor and rare parasites, you'll be able to diagnose more difficult cases. No other book in this market is so respected and so complete. It's the only parasitology reference that provides everything you'll need!

• Thorough coverage describes parasites that infect most major domestic species, and also includes organisms that infect poultry, lab animals and exotic species.
• A convenient appendix includes six drug tables listing parasiticides by species and a table of commercial antiparasitic vaccines, for easy access to the most up-to-date drug information.
• Greek and Latin roots of terms are arranged alphabetically on the inside front and back covers, providing a quick reference when you're in a hurry.

• Over 800 full-color photos and line drawings help you identify parasites accurately.
• A new introductory chapter provides an overview of parsitology.
• A new Vector-borne Diseases chapter restates viruses, rickettsiae and other bacteria, protozoa, and helminths in terms of vectors.

Intended for both the horse-owner and the veterinary student, this dictionary explains the terms used in veterinary medicine as it applies to the horse. It also describes the diseases and conditions, and recommended treatments. Scientific names are cross-referenced under their common equivalents, and drugs listed under their chemical composition as well as the trade names. Lists of veterinary associations and relevant publications are included, with an appendix of British and American drug manufacturers.

Provide expert care for cats and dogs! Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment, 9th Edition covers not only the management of emergency conditions, but also strategies for dealing with hundreds of routine diagnostic and treatment challenges in small animals. Its user-friendly format provides instant access to vital information -- making it an ideal resource in emergency situations -- and it is conveniently organized by both body systems and presenting signs to help you easily reach a diagnosis and determine a treatment plan for all clinical situations. Written by veterinary experts Richard Ford and Elisa Mazzaferro, Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment provides current guidelines for small animal emergency care and the diagnostic procedures most commonly performed in a busy, team-oriented practice.

• Step-by-step instructions and illustrations are provided for all major emergency and non-emergency clinical procedures.
• A logical, easy-to-use format lists all emergency conditions in alphabetical order, and includes quick reference boxes calling out key information such as clinical tips and cautions.

• Clear, concise guidelines help you evaluate clinical signs and laboratory test data.

• Clinical algorithms make it easier to identify and treat abnormalities.
• Guidelines for assessment and treatment include practical advice and solutions, how to examine the small animal patient using a body systems and problem list approach, and a review of basic diagnostic procedures used in daily practice.

• Coverage of toxicological emergencies describes how to manage exposures and poisonings.

• A quick reference guide to the management of the emergency patient is conveniently located on the inside cover.

• A comprehensive drug formulary makes lookup easy, and includes proprietary names, actions/use of each drug, formulations, recommended dosages, and special precautions, with emergency medications highlighted for fast reference
• This all-in-one reference includes practical coverage of emergency procedures, physical assessment in sickness and health, routine and advanced testing procedures, diagnostic tests sampling, preparation, procedures, and interpretation.

• Quick Reference boxes include potential causes of each clinical abnormality and associated signs, step-by-step diagnostic plans, and clinical algorithms.
• The latest vaccination guidelines include protocols for dogs and cats at low, medium, and high risk of exposure to infectious diseases.

• Updated coverage keeps you current with the latest on pain assessment, prevention, and treatment.

Now in full color with hundreds of new illustrations, this essential resource covers the broad spectrum of laboratory procedures that technicians need to perform effectively in the practice setting. It presents step-by-step coverage of the basics of all laboratory work-ups - microbiology, hematology, immunology, parasitology, urinalysis, and cytology - providing the latest information on the most widely used tests such as complete blood count and immunologic assays.

• Clearly presents the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, parasitology, and cytology along with the laboratory procedures used to perform tests in these fields.
• Features the latest information on the most widely used tests, including complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunology assays.
• Features step-by-step procedure boxes, for quick mastery of essential skills.
• Extensive full-color illustrations enhance descriptions of normal and abnormal findings.

• New co-author Margi Sirois is a respected author and renowned speaker on laboratory procedures, particularly clinical pathology.
• Now in full-color with hundreds of vivid illustrations that demonstrate key concepts.
• New smaller size is more convenient and portable.
• Features expanded sections on laboratory safety and quality control, all routine CBC and coagulation tests, serum chemistry tests, electrolyte and endocrine function testing, innate and adaptive immune systems, bone marrow evaluation, and cytology sample collection and handling.
• New sections include the formation of blood cells, histograms produced by automated cell counters, bacterial and fungal morphology, microorganisms, molecular diagnostics, radioimmunoassay and fluorescent antibody (FA) testing, the physiology of immunity, and algorithms for the evaluation of cytology samples.
• Dozens of new chemistry, hematology, and microbiology boxes and tables synthesize essential information.
• Key Points summarize important concepts for quick review.

Covering the role of the veterinary technician in large-animal care, Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 2nd Edition provides a comprehensive guide to large-animal clinical diagnostic, medical, and surgical procedures. Not only does this book show why and how each procedure is performed, but it shows the vet tech's role in preparing for, assisting in, and following up on each one. Coverage of herd health care helps you understand the essentials of behavior and handling, safety, breeds, vaccination schedules, and common parasites. This edition adds case studies and clinical applications in each chapter, and a new section with an overview on livestock management. Written by educator and horse stable owner Kristin Holtgrew-Bohling, this book helps you pass your boards and gain certification, and can also be used as an on-the-job reference.

• A focus on the veterinary technician's role includes a description of each procedure in terms of the vet tech's responsibilities, explaining why and how the procedure is performed.
• Full-color photographs and line drawings show restraint, bandaging, physical examination techniques, and diagnostic procedures.
• A practical approach makes this text useful in classes and in clinical situations, so veterinary technicians, acting under instructions of veterinarians, can plan and follow through on procedures and treatment regimens for large animals.
• Proper medical terminology and common/layperson terminology are both used, helping you communicate effectively with clients and with other professionals.
• AVMA accreditation is promoted through coverage of the essential large animal-related tasks in the CVTEA Manual of Accreditation for Veterinary Technology Programs.

• New section on the livestock industry provides a wider background of herd health care so you can better understand the practices, procedures, and decisions of large animal veterinary medicine.
• New section on llamas and alpacas helps you understand the health and maintenance of these increasingly popular domestic animals -- in the U.S., there are more than 12,000 alpaca herds and 25,000 llama owners.
• Emphasis on husbandry demonstrates how everyday housing and feeding affect care of common large animal diseases, including client education.
• Addition of case studies and clinical applications to each chapter helps you develop skills such as good history taking, decision making, and thinking on your feet.
• Coverage of herd health care includes behavior and handling, safety, breeds, vaccination schedules, and common parasites.
• Vet Tech Threads focus your learning with learning objectives, key terms, chapter outlines, and Technician Notes.
• Other added coverage includes photos of breeds and vaccination and parasite tables.

The Handbook of Radiographic Positioning for Veterinary Technicians is a clear concise reference demonstrating correct patient positioning for routine radiographic studies of canine, feline, and exotic animal patients. Photographs of patients in proper position, completed radiographs, and overlay of anatomical features are included.

A revision of the ever-popular small animal practitioner's reference -- in a completely updated and revised volume. The latest version of this internationally recognized reference offers the most authoritative and complete information available today. Contributors are experts in the field and provide insight into the diagnoses and treatments for virtually all diseases and disorders of domestic and exotic small animals. This issue will refer back to issues XI and XII.

Offering comprehensive coverage of core anatomic concepts, this respected, clinically oriented text is the definitive source for a complete understanding of veterinary anatomy. Gain the working anatomic knowledge that is crucial to your understanding of the veterinary basic sciences, as well as detailed information directly applicable to the care of specific animal species, including dogs, cats, horses, cows, pigs, sheep, goats, and birds. Each chapter includes a conceptual overview that describes the structure and function of an anatomic region, accompanied by new full-color dissection photographs that illustrate the relevance of anatomy to successful veterinary practice.

• Content is logically organized into two main sections - a general introduction to mammalian anatomy and a region-specific breakdown - to make studying more efficient and ensure greater understanding.
• Comprehensive, all-in-one coverage of all major species presents everything you need to master anatomic concepts in one text.
• Focus on essential anatomy of each species delivers just the right level of detail to help you establish a solid foundation for success.

• For the first time all images in the text appear in full color! This lifelike presentation clarifies anatomic concepts and structures in vibrant detail.
• Vivid full-color dissection photographs help you translate anatomic knowledge to clinical practice and confidently perform dissection procedures.
• A companion Evolve Resources website reinforces your understanding and helps you prepare for the NAVLE board exam with 300 exam-style practice questions, a full-color electronic image collection, and more.

The only complete resource on immunology for veterinary students and practitioners, Veterinary Immunology: An Introduction features a straightforward presentation of basic immunologic principles with comprehensive information on the most significant immunological diseases and responses seen in domestic animals. This meticulously updated new edition explores the latest advances in the field and provides a wealth of clinical examples that illustrate and clarify important concepts.

• Comprehensive coverage of vaccines and vaccine usage, allergies and allergic diseases, and autoimmunity and immunodeficiencies, prepare you for the multiple immunologic issues you will encounter in practice.
• A wealth of clinical examples clearly illustrate key concepts and offer practical strategies for diagnosing and treating immunologic disorders in the clinical setting.
• More than 500 full-color diagrams and illustrations visually demonstrate and clarify complex issues.

• Completely updated section on innate immunity includes new chapters on natural killer (NK) cells and systemic responses to infection to ensure you have the most up-to-date information.
• New information on genomics and molecular diagnostic techniques explores how the emerging field of genomics impacts disease resistance and immunology in general, as well as the diagnosis and treatment of immunological and infectious diseases.
• Updated content provides new information on well-recognized older diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis, systemic lupus, and inflammatory bowel disease, as well as current information on new diseases such as devil facial tumor disease and bovine neonatal pancytopenia.
• Expanded coverage brings you the latest knowledge on resistance to infection, such as vaccine usage, especially with respect to duration of immunity, the effects of key vitamins and lipids on immune responses, the effects of old age on immunity, and both antiviral and parasitic immunity.
• Diagnostic tests described throughout the text include a new section on the analysis of ELISA test data, as well as a brief summary of molecular diagnostic techniques.
• Coverage reflecting a significant change in the overall view of immunology provides you with the foundational knowledge needed to grasp the broad pattern of immunologic reactions and understand how the immune system functions as an interconnected network, rather than a series of independent pathways.
• New discussions of the critical importance of commensal bacteria and intestinal flora explain help you understand the importance of this normal flora with respect to antibacterial immunity, allergies, and autoimmunity, while at the same time providing a broader view of the animal body and its microflora as a "superorganism."
• A discussion of the importance of adipose tissue in immunity and inflammation addresses the epidemic of obesity in domestic pets and the extraordinary growth rates expected of domestic livestock.
• The section on inflammatory mechanisms has been divided into separate chapters focusing on the detection of invaders and the mediators of inflammation to incorporate the vast amount of new information on pattern recognition receptors and the ways in which they warn the body of microbial invasion.

Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician, Second Edition is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for technicians in the classroom and clinic setting alike. With an emphasis on the exotic species most likely to present to a veterinary practice, the book offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques. Covering information ranging from anatomy, restraint, and common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician provides technicians with all the information necessary to confidently and competently treat exotic patients.

This book's companion Web site includes review questions and figures for download in PowerPoint.

Covering the role of the veterinary technician in large-animal care, Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 2nd Edition provides a comprehensive guide to large-animal clinical diagnostic, medical, and surgical procedures. Not only does this book show why and how each procedure is performed, but it shows the vet tech's role in preparing for, assisting in, and following up on each one. Coverage of herd health care helps you understand the essentials of behavior and handling, safety, breeds, vaccination schedules, and common parasites. This edition adds case studies and clinical applications in each chapter, and a new section with an overview on livestock management. Written by educator and horse stable owner Kristin Holtgrew-Bohling, this book helps you pass your boards and gain certification, and can also be used as an on-the-job reference.

• A focus on the veterinary technician's role includes a description of each procedure in terms of the vet tech's responsibilities, explaining why and how the procedure is performed.
• Full-color photographs and line drawings show restraint, bandaging, physical examination techniques, and diagnostic procedures.
• A practical approach makes this text useful in classes and in clinical situations, so veterinary technicians, acting under instructions of veterinarians, can plan and follow through on procedures and treatment regimens for large animals.
• Proper medical terminology and common/layperson terminology are both used, helping you communicate effectively with clients and with other professionals.
• AVMA accreditation is promoted through coverage of the essential large animal-related tasks in the CVTEA Manual of Accreditation for Veterinary Technology Programs.

• New section on the livestock industry provides a wider background of herd health care so you can better understand the practices, procedures, and decisions of large animal veterinary medicine.
• New section on llamas and alpacas helps you understand the health and maintenance of these increasingly popular domestic animals -- in the U.S., there are more than 12,000 alpaca herds and 25,000 llama owners.
• Emphasis on husbandry demonstrates how everyday housing and feeding affect care of common large animal diseases, including client education.
• Addition of case studies and clinical applications to each chapter helps you develop skills such as good history taking, decision making, and thinking on your feet.
• Coverage of herd health care includes behavior and handling, safety, breeds, vaccination schedules, and common parasites.
• Vet Tech Threads focus your learning with learning objectives, key terms, chapter outlines, and Technician Notes.
• Other added coverage includes photos of breeds and vaccination and parasite tables.

AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians offers a compendium of information on the care and treatment of horses for equine veterinary technicians. Highly accessible and easy to use, the book builds on the basics of equine care to provide a complete reference for equine nursing and technical skills. AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians is an invaluable guide for qualified equine veterinary technicians and assistants, particularly those earning their equine certification, vet tech students, and equine practices.

Complete disease coverage for all companion animals! Be prepared for the diseases you'll encounter every day in practice with this concise, user-friendly guide to treatment for all companion animals! Detailed disease monographs give you a thorough understanding of the clinical signs, laboratory work-up, treatment options, medications, and aftercare and prevention techniques associated with common diseases. Plus, a logical body systems organization makes it easy to find what you need when you need it.

Oncology for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is a handbook of cancer care from the technician perspective. Providing information on cancer from cause to treatment, this comprehensive resource focuses on the nursing role, emphasizing technical procedures, staging, and patient support. By equipping veterinary support staff with the information they need to properly and safely perform cancer treatments, Oncology for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses promotes working as part of a team to provide optimal care for dogs and cats with cancer.

This guide to the principles of anesthesia administration in animals combines user-friendly coverage of essential information with an outstanding illustration program and improved readability. Anesthesia and Analgesia for Veterinary Technicians, 4th Edition prepares you to administer anesthesia with information on pre-anesthetic preparation of the patient, induction procedures, monitoring animals' vital signs during the anesthetic period, and postoperative care. Expert authors John A. Thomas, DVM, and Phillip Lerche, BVSc PhD, Dipl ACVA, also include discussions of actions and side effects of anesthetic agents, the physiology of respiration, heart rate and blood pressure, emergency response, anesthetic equipment, and specialized techniques.

.

• 
  
• Comprehensive scope of coverage includes both large and small animals.
• 
  
• A reading level and depth of information appropriate for the technical level.
• 
  
• Easy-to-read, user-friendly format makes this a practical guide in the classroom or in practice.
• 
  
• Objectives, key points, and review questions help reinforce learning.
• 
  
• Focus on health and safety issues satisfies OSHA requirements.
• 
  
• Step-by-step procedures boxes clarify the technician's role in anesthesia delivery.

• 
  
  
• New organization and completely updated techniques, drugs, and equipment keep you up-to-date on the latest advances in the field.
• 
  
• 49 new procedures boxes, 20 anesthetic protocol boxes, and 5 case studies help you apply knowledge to real-life situations.
• 
  
• Two new large animal chapters cover pain management and anesthetic techniques for equine and ruminant patients.
• 
  
• Illustrated, step-by-step procedures and the full-color format make this text inviting and user-friendly.
• 
  
• All new figures and 4-color art make the material easy to understand and visually appealing.
• 
  
• New material in every chapter incorporates the expanding role of veterinary technician anesthetists, especially in referral practices, teaching institutions, and research.
• 
  
• Chapter outlines and Technician Tips emphasize key information and highlight key terms in the glossary.
• 
  
• Student resources on the Evolve website include a video animation that demonstrates the use and maintenance of different anesthesia machines.
• 
  
  
  

Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Practice Management Consult is a comprehensive, one-stop reference text on all things management related, from understanding the marketplace in which veterinarians practice, to appreciating hospital finances, to the nuts and bolts of marketing services for a veterinary practice. Topics are covered in a thorough but concise format and provide invaluable information for practice owners, administrators, associates and staff.

Key Features:
? follows the popular Five-Minute Veterinary Consult structured format
? consistency of presentation makes for easy information retrieval
? focus is on practical rather than theoretical solutions for veterinary practice
issues
? Provides examples within relevant topics

Sections include:
? The veterinary marketplace
? Client relationship management
? Communications
? Financial management
? Cash management
? Human resources
? Marketing management
? Operations management
? Administrative management
? Practice safety
? Legal Issues
? Planning & Decision-making
? Facility management, design and construction
Plus, appendices, list of abbreviations, glossary, and more!

An invitation into the magical, grueling, and virtually unknown world of exotic animal training

Behind the imposing gate of the Exotic Animal Training Program at California’s Moorpark College lies a kingdom full of small mysteries, deep passions, and a camel that shoots hoops. Each year a select group of students descends on this teaching zoo to learn an improbable talent: how to communicate with animals. The only school of its kind, Moorpark pushes the limits of all the enrolled as they master hundreds of Latin species names and zoonotic diseases, all while hosing down cages at dawn and noting that Zulu the mandrill takes his morning juice in a paper cup— never plastic. The alumni of this elite program hold the most coveted positions at the world’s finest zoos, aquariums, and sanctuaries. They are also the trainers who work in television and film, bringing Moorpark’s enlightened methods to the business of animals for hire.

Author Amy Sutherland returns with the same impassioned voice that made her debut, Cookoff, such a delight. Kicked, Bitten, and Scratchedis a fascinating look at a little-known profession for animal lovers everywhere.

How well can you answer pet owners' questions about proper diet and feeding? Canine and Feline Nutrition, 3rd Edition describes the role of nutrition and its effects upon health and wellness and the dietary management of various disorders of dogs and cats. By using the book's cutting-edge research and clinical nutrition information, you'll be able to make recommendations of appropriate pet food and proper feeding guidelines. Pet nutrition experts Linda P. Case, MS, Leighann Daristotle, DVM, PhD, Michael G. Hayek, PhD, and Melody Foess Raasch, DVM, provide complete, head-to-tail coverage and a broad scope of knowledge, so you can help dog and cat owners make sound nutrition and feeding choices to promote their pets' health to prolong their lives.

• Tables and boxes provide quick reference to the most important clinical information.
• Key points summarize essential information at a glance.
• A useful Nutritional Myths and Feeding Practices chapter dispels and corrects common food myths.

• 
  
  
• New clinical information covers a wide range of emerging nutrition topics including the role of the omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acid families in pet health and disease management.
• 
  
• Coverage of pet food safety and pet food ingredients includes both commercially and home-prepared foods and provides answers to pet owners' questions on these topics.
• 
  
• Completely updated content reflects the latest findings in clinical nutrition research.
• 
  
• Information regarding functional ingredients and dietary supplementation provides a scientifically based rationale for recommending or advising against dietary supplements.
• 
  
• Guidelines for understanding pet food formulations and health claims differentiate between "market-speak" and actual clinical benefits for patients, with practice advice for evaluating and selecting appropriate foods.

A pioneering revolutionary prescription for the health and long life of your pets For two decades, Dr. Martin Goldstein--America's most successful, renowned holistic veterinarian--has healed and helped his animal patients with the same natural therapies that benefit humans. The results have been so astounding that today critically sick pets are brought to him from across the country for a new chance at life and health. In this compelling, very accessible book, Dr. Goldstein explains exactly what holistic medicine is and how it works. By treating the root of a health problem instead of its symptoms, you too can help your animal to regain and maintain its own health, as nature intended. Dr. Goldstein also shares many remarkable true stories of supposedly terminally ill animals who have recovered to full wellness. Inside you'll discover - Why our animals get sick, even when we strive to give them the best of care - An exhaustive A to Z guide of pet ailments--and the best course of action - Why vaccines can do more harm than good - The link between diet and disease--and how the right diet can not only prevent disease but reverse it - How acupuncture, homeopathy, chiropractic, and other alternative options work--safely and painlessly--to restore true health - Specific guidance for the use of herbs, supplements, and natural remedies - The good news (and the bad) about cancer in animals--including extraordinary new treatments and potential cures - Coping with the inevitable death of your pet--both physically and psychologically And much, much more PLUS--the ultimate resource for holistic pet care: an extensive guide to holistic product manufacturers and stores, books, newsletters, Web sites, veterinarians, and associations!

Veterinary Disaster Response is the essential guide to disaster training, preparation, planning, and recovery. The book takes a question-and-answer format to promote understanding and outline the steps for veterinary response to natural and man-made disasters. Veterinary Disaster Response is a must-have reference for anyone involved in disaster medicine, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians, veterinary students, animal control and shelter personnel, search and rescue personnel, and emergency response teams.

Exotic Small Mammal Care and Husbandry is a practical reference for assessing, handling, and treating small exotic animals in the veterinary clinic. Covering common species such as mice, hamsters, rabbits, and ferrets, the book focuses on nursing care, giving veterinary staff the information they need to work with these less-common patients. With information on basic anatomy, preventative care, and common diseases, Exotic Small Mammal Care and Husbandry provides a thorough grounding in the fundamentals of caring for small exotic mammals and communicating with owners.

It is exactly like Isaiah 11:6: The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid . . . Written by National Geographic magazine writer Jennifer Holland, Unlikely Friendships documents one heartwarming tale after another of animals who, with nothing else in common, bond in the most unexpected ways. A cat and a bird. A mare and a fawn. An elephant and a sheep. A snake and a hamster. The well-documented stories of Koko the gorilla and All Ball the kitten; and the hippo Owen and the tortoise Mzee. And almost inexplicable stories of predators befriending prey-an Indian leopard slips into a village every night to sleep with a calf. A lionness mothers a baby oryx. Ms. Holland narrates the details and arc of each story, and also offers insights into why-how the young leopard, probably motherless, sought maternal comfort with the calf, and how a baby oryx inspired the same mothering instinct in the lionness. Or, in the story of Kizzy, a nervous retired Greyhound, and Murphy, a red tabby, how cats and dogs actually understand each other’s body language. With Murphy’s friendship and support, Kizzy recovered from life as a racing dog and became a confident, loyal family pet.

These are the most amazing friendships between species, collected from around the world and documented in a selection of full-color candid photographs.

Animal cruelty is gaining attention worldwide. With the rise of mandatory reporting requirements for veterinarians and prosecution of animal cruelty, veterinarians and pathologists need the resources to properly assist in these cases.

Veterinary Forensics is a practical reference for veterinarians, pathologists and investigators. Written by a leading expert in veterinary forensics, it provides the background and resources needed to work with animal abuse cases. The book offers detailed and clear direction on crime scene investigation, forensic testing and forensic pathology findings, as well as guidance on handling evidence and conducting evaluations that will hold up in court.

Primarily focused on dogs and cats, the principles and techniques in this book can be applied easily to other species as well. Photographs highlight pertinent forensic findings in animals, and extensive appendices include forms for examination, report writing, entomology collection, body condition scoring, forensic kits, forensic specialists and labs, and web resources.

One of the most difficult issues that confronts veterinarians and staff today concerns the profession's obligation to the animal and the sometimes conflicting demands from clients, peers and society. The veterinarian's role has become more complex with new ethical challenges posed by issues such as growing public awareness regarding animal welfare, increasing economic value of companion animals, growth of veterinary specialization, experimentation with alternative and complementary medicine, and concern for pain management and mental well-being of animals.

Written by an acknowledged pioneer in veterinary ethics, An Introduction to Veterinary Medical Ethics addresses the ethical challenges that veterinarians face daily as they seek to balance obligations to animal, client, peers, society and self. The book offers a highly readable and approachable introduction to the nature of ethical theory, reasoning and decision-making, and its practical application to veterinary medicine. Now with over 100 real-life veterinary case histories and analysis, this edition also includes new discussions of animal pain, distress and happiness, ethics of critical care, alternative medicine, legal status and value of animals, and Aesculapian authority.

An Introduction to Veterinary Medical Ethics: Theory and Cases, Second Edition is recommended as essential reading for all veterinary students and practitioners, as well as those interested in general animal welfare.

• 
  
• New edition from an acknowledged pioneer in veterinary ethics
  
• Addresses ethical challenges that veterinary medicine, with over 100 real-life cases
  
• Includes new discussion of legal status and value of animals, alternative medicine, Aesculapian authority, ethics and critical care, and animal pain, distress and happiness
  
• Ideal for veterinary students and practitioners