Veterinary Technology (Julie's original version): Getting Started

"This encyclopaedic dictionary offers a unique guide to animal health, disease, welfare and husbandry. It is an invaluable first reference source to all involved with, or interested in, animals. Much more than a list of veterinary terms, its practical approach ensures that readers gain an insight into the signs and symptoms of common - and less common - diseases, their diagnosis and treatment." "Black's Veterinary Dictionary is not only concerned with diseases. There is also guidance on the housing, nutrition and welfare of farm animals as well as information on the care and feeding of horses and companion animals." "This book is also a ready source of information on the tropical diseases made more prevalent by international travel, and the laws covering animals."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

If you are looking for a book that presents a unique photographic record of dissections showing the topographical anatomy of the dog and cat: this is the atlas for you! Part of a comprehensive 3-volume set that also covers Ruminants (Volume 1) and The Horse (Volume 2), the Color Atlas of the Dog and Cat takes a complete look at virtually every aspect of veterinary anatomy. With this book you will be able to see the position and relationships of bones, muscles, nerves, blood vessels and viscera that go to make up each region of the body and each organ system. Rich with full-color photographs and drawings of dissections prepared specifically for these texts, each book in the series illustrates regional surface features photographed before dissection, then gives high-quality complementary photographs of articulated skeletons. Accessibly and systematically structured with each chapter is devoted to a specific body region Important features of regional and topographical anatomy presented in full color photos of detailed dissections Detailed color line drawings clarify the relationships of relevant structures Website offers drag and drop quizzes and the chance to test yourself with mcqs Informative captions give additional information necessary for proper interpretation of the images Presents anatomy in a clinical context

Some reviewers call Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The original set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Thomson Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, our new editions of Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.

The 2

Intended to complement the material typically taught in high school biology and introductory college biology courses, "Encyclopedia of Life Science" is a new, two-volume reference set that reflects the fundamental concepts and principles identified by the National Committee on Science Education Standards. More than 200 comprehensive entries are arranged by topic or theme and cover concepts, theories, sub-disciplines, biographies, common methods, and techniques relevant to modern science.

Written by vet techs for vet techs, this comprehensive review tool offers coverage of basic science, clinical science, diagnostics, applications, and professional areas. It concisely presents a review of the curriculum, starting at the basics learned first and progressing to the advanced concepts learned at the end. A true review format, this book features tools such as chapter outlines, learning outcomes, a glossary, and multiple-choice questions to aid readers' comprehension of material.

• Concisely covers all areas of veterinary technology, including basic and clinical sciences, applications, patient management, nursing, nutrition, anesthesia and pharmacology, and professional practices and issues.
• Written in an easy-to-use outline format with numerous tables to summarize information.
• Includes coverage of large animals, birds, reptiles, lab animals, cats, and dogs.
• Features chapter outlines, glossaries, learning outcomes, and review questions for material review.

• Content is enhanced, reflecting the expanding responsibilities that today's veterinary technicians encounter in genetics, small animal nursing, veterinary dentistry, zoonoses, emergency first aid, avian and reptile medicine, equine and ruminant surgery, anesthesia, and breeding, reproduction, and neonatal care.
• Features more than 60 new illustrations, including a number of radiographs and cytology slides.
• Includes chapters on cytology and ethics.
• Presents a comprehensive review exam with nearly 300 questions.
• Offers an appendix of resources, including American, Canadian, and International associations, registration of technicians, and internet sites.

This new resource provides a basic foundation in small animal anatomy for students of veterinary medicine, animal science, and veterinary technology. Extraordinary accuracy and beautiful original artwork make this a truly unique learning tool that includes the anatomy of all organ systems in the dog, cat, rabbit, rat, and guinea pig - all described in a consistent manner.

Learning features include: carefully selected labeling helps students learn and remember structures and relationships; male and female of species are depicted on facing pages so topographic anatomy can be compared; structures common to various animals are labeled several times, whereas unique structures are labeled on one or two species so students can make rapid distinctions of the structures peculiar to certain animals; and an introduction that provides readers with a background in nomenclature and anatomic orientation so they can benefit from the atlas even if they lack training in anatomy.

The Atlas depicts topographic relationships of major organs in a simple, yet technically accurate presentation that's free from extraneous material so that those using the atlas can concentrate on the essential aspects of anatomy. It will be an invaluable resource for veterinary students, teachers and practitioners alike.

Extraordinary accuracy and beautiful original artwork are just two features readers will find in this new resource, providing a basic foundation in domestic large animal anatomy. Its unique organization includes the anatomy of all organ systems in the various species, described in a consistent manner.

The book presents relevant anatomy of the following species:

* Horse (with contributors by Dr. Gayle Trotter)

* Ox (with contributions by Dr. Fran Garry)

* Sheep and goat (with contributions by Dr. Joan Bowen)

* Llama and alpaca (with contributions by Dr. LaRue Johnson)

* Swine (with contributions by Dr. LaRue Johnson)

* and chicken (with contributions by Dr. John Avens).

Features that enhance understanding:

* Carefully selected labeling helps students learn and remember structures and relationships.

* Male and female of a given species are depicted on facing pages so that topographic anatomy is easy to compare.

* Structures common to various animals are labeled several times, whereas unique structrur5es are labeled only on one or two species so students can make rapid distinctions of the structures peculiar to certain animals.

* An introduction provides readers with a background in nomenclature and anatomic orientation so they can benefit from the atlas even if they lack training in anatomy.

The Atlas depicts topographic relationships of major organs in a simple, yet technically accurate presentation that's free of extraneous detail so that those using the atlas can concentrate on the essential aspects of anatomy.

The Merck Veterinary Manual is the most comprehensive, reliable reference for veterinary professionals. Trusted for more than 50 years, this reference now features hundreds of full-color images, including illustrations, photomicrographs, and radiographic, ultrasonographic, and endoscopic images. In addition, all 3,000 pages have been updated to reflect the latest advances in veterinary medicine.

This new edition offers comprehensive coverage of exotic and laboratory animals and an extensively revised zoonoses reference table. The section on behavior has been thoroughly revised, and includes the most current information on diagnosing and treating behavioral disorders in dogs, cats, and other domestic animals.

Updated Content:

• Comprensive discussion of diseases and disorders affecting all common domestic animals
• Expanded coverage of exotic animals, including pet birds, fish, ratites, reptiles, and rodents
• Zoonotic potential of veterinary diseases is highlighted throughout
• Expanded discussions of topics such as antimicrobial resistance, off-label drug usage, vaccines, and advances in imaging techniques
• Extensively revised Behavior and Immunology sections
• Reorganized Toxicology section for easier reference

Ten Brand-New Chapters

• African Hedgehogs
• Biology of the Immune System
• Cloning of Domestic Animals
• Complementary and Alternative Veterinary Medicine
• Disorders of Potassium Metabolism
• Equine Metabolic Syndrome
• Poisonous Mushrooms
• Porcine Circovirus Diseases
• Pseudopregnancy in Goats
• Seminal Vesiculitis in Bulls

The Merck Manual has also been completely redesigned for easier reading. Offering a colorful new look at animal health, this edition is truly indispensable.

Provides the first general sourcebook for identification and treatment of most behavior problems encountered in livestock and pets. Hundreds of described behaviors are arranged alphabetically, cross-referenced, and cited to sources for additional information.

Now in a fully updated seventh edition, Plumb’s Veterinary Drug Handbook remains the most complete source of drug information relevant for animals available.   Providing referenced dosing recommendations in each monograph, this book offers doses for a wide range of species, including dogs, cats, exotic animals, and farm animals, in a single resource. The book also includes detail on key aspects for appropriate use of each drug, including pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, adverse effects, safety during pregnancy or nursing, overdoses, drug interactions, monitoring, chemistry and stability, storage, compatibility, and available products.

The seventh edition adds 22 new drug monographs, as well as updated dosages and information for existing drugs.  A noteworthy feature is the Prescriber Highlights section found at the beginning of each monograph that allows readers a quick method of finding important information for that drug.

This is the 8 ½ x 11-inch desk size, offering enhanced readability and ease of use; Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook is also available in the convenient 5 by 8-inch pocket size and as a mobile version. Plumb’s exhaustive one-volume coverage of drugs approved for veterinary species and non-approved (human) drugs that are used in veterinary practices today make this book an essential reference for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, veterinary pharmacologists, pharmacists with veterinary patients, animal research or zoological facilities, and libraries that serve these groups.

Written and edited by a distinguished team of experts, Encyclopedia of Animal Science, Second Edition contains more than 300 entries that explore the broad field of Animal Science. Organized with reader-friendly descriptions, the second edition discusses topics ranging from adaptation and stress, to zoos and aquariums. With 2500 references and hundreds of figures, equations, and tables, it covers new developments in genomics, transgenesis, cloning, and mathematical model constructions. New entries on topics such as: Adaptation and Stress: Neuroendocrine, Physiological, and Behavioral Responses Animal Source Foods (ASFs): Listeria monocytogenes Ethanol By-Products: Beef Farm Animal Welfare: Philosophical Aspects Feed Supplements: Antibiotics Functional Food Components: Ruminant-Derived Foods Genomic Selection of Phenotype Horses: Breeds, Breeding, and Genetics Metabolic Modifiers Molecular Biology: Animal Proteins: Oxidation, Turnover, and Proteomics Recombinant Bovine Somatotropin: Environmental Impact The coverage underscores the interdependence of production agriculture, economics, and environmental sustainability in contributing to a stable and flourishing society. Each entry provides a succinct overview designed to help readers acquire basic familiarity with the key terms and current knowledge of the subject, augmented by selected literature citations. The encyclopedia supplies current information on a broad spectrum of topics related to the biology, production, and uses of animals and their products in a complex, diverse, and rapidly changing world. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librari