This guidance is designed to help both students and instructors understand the reach and limits of disability-related accommodations in the classroom and related academic settings. Please note that the details of how some accommodations are to be implemented may vary depending upon whether the setting is a classroom lecture, a laboratory exercise, or an off-campus clinical placement. Accordingly, any student or instructor who requires further explanations or guidance should contact the Disability Services Coordinator (Cindy Ambrogne-O’Toole at 207-216-4412 or cotoole@yccc.edu) at their earliest convenience.
1. Absence from Class
The authorization to miss certain classes means that the student must make every effort to maintain regular attendance and attend classes with scheduled tests. A student who is absent from more than 10% of classes for disability-related reasons must provide to the Disability Services Coordinator adequate medical documentation of the need for such absences. Such a student also remains responsible for fulfilling all assignments and other exercises that the student misses, and for initiating contact with the instructor to determine what such work is and how it will be made up. Deadlines for tests and assignments missed because of such absences shall be reasonably extended by the instructor.
2. Breaks during Class
The authorization to take breaks from class means that the student may leave class only when necessitated by their disability, and only when the student assesses that an essential part of the class is not occurring. The student must leave and return in a manner that is quiet and not disruptive to the class. The student should be out of class for only the briefest possible time, and is responsible for obtaining after class any information that the student missed while out. The student should first attempt to get the missed information from another student and, if unsuccessful, then from the instructor. A student should take as few breaks as possible each class. Students must not use such breaks as an excuse to avoid class or lab tasks that the student regards as undesirable. Students who appear to an instructor to exceed or abuse the purpose of this accommodation should be referred to the Disability Services Coordinator for review and any appropriate corrective action.
3. Note Taking
This authorization means that the student may access the in-class notes of a fellow student or the lecture notes, if any, of the instructor, consistent with the College's note taking guidance and arrangements for copies of such notes shall be made in advance by the student, working with the instructor, to promote common understandings and consistent access. Copies of the College's Guidelines for Provision of Student Note Takers and information brochure A Guide for Student Note Takers are available from the Disability Services Coordinator.
4. Additional Time
This accommodation has different applications in different settings. Generally speaking, additional time is given for those graded assessments (such as tests, quizzes or other like exercises) and ungraded activities (other various in-class exercises) when time is not an essential element of the task being assessed. For many exercises, time is less an essential element of the task being assessed and more a matter of class-time management. But where time is an essential element for a particular activity, additional time need not be given. For example, time is an essential element of performing CPR, catheterizing a cat, boiling chemicals and other laboratory functions, so extended time is not necessarily reasonable. The following guidance provides addition information regarding commonly recurring contexts.
a. For In-Class Assessments (Tests, Quizzes and Other Exercises) that are Timed and Graded
The authorization to have additional time on tests applies only to timed assessments. For example, a test that occupies a 45-minute class period would be given over a 65-minute period, and the additional 20 minutes could typically either be provided immediately after the class, or the full 65 minutes would be provided at a testing center on the same day as, or as soon as possible following, the day that the test is given to the class. The instructor must give the center a copy of the test and the center shall administer the test for the time allotted. Additional rules or procedures of the testing center may also apply. In the case of online tests, the IT department should be contacted in advance to determine whether, and if so, how, the online test-time window can be expanded.
b. For Take-Home Assessments
The authorization to have additional time on assessments does not apply to take home exercises because such tests are not regarded as “timed” tests. For example, a test handed out on a Friday and due back on a Monday is due Monday for the accommodated student as well.
c. For Other In-Class Exercises
For in-class tasks where time is less an essential element of the task being assessed and more a matter of class-time management, reasonable time increases are to be given. Sometimes this means staying after class to complete the task or following through after class to show the completed task.
5. Quiet or Reduced Distraction Environment
The authorization to have certain tasks performed in quiet conditions typically means that the student may take a test in a testing center where extraneous distractions are often more limited. As regards in-class exercises other than testing, this authorization requires the instructor to limit to the extent practicable those distractions that are made by the class during the exercise.
6. Converting Information to Alternative Formats (Use of Assistive Technology)
This accommodation varies depending upon the disability and the communications context.
a. Converting Paper to Digital
The authorization to receive written handouts and classroom materials in an accessible electronic format means the use of assistive technology that records and translates the written information into a digital format. This includes, for example, technology that scans and magnifies text.
b. Converting Text to Speech
The authorization to have written materials read aloud includes the following. First, the materials may be read aloud by the instructor or other authorized person. Second, they may be read aloud by an electronic reader (commonly known as an e-reader).
c. Converting Speech to Text
The authorization to receive information that was originally delivered orally translated into written text includes, for example, technology that the student uses to record audio or converts speech to text (such as Dragon Dictation software or "smart pens"). It also includes interpreters (American Sign Language), and real-time transcription through a CART (Communication Real Time Translation) service.
Note that many of the above accommodations, especially interpreters and CART services, require advance time for coordination between the Disability Services Coordinator and the affected instructor(s). The Coordinator, student and instructor will coordinate how each can help convert the above material.
7. Audio and/or Video Recording
The authorization to record the audio or video of an activity, such as a lecture, includes the use of a tape or video recorder. Such use must be pre-arranged with the instructor. The recording may 1) only be used by that student for that student's educational purposes, and 2) not be rebroadcast to any others in any way without the prior written approval of the College's Dean of Students or Academic Dean.
8. Use of a Calculator
This authorization means that the student may use a calculator during an exercise or assessment unless calculation is an essential function being evaluated.
9. Use of a Multiplication Chart
This authorization means that the student may use a multiplication chart during an exercise or assessment unless multiplication is an essential function being evaluated.
10. Use of Notes during a Test or other Assessment
This authorization means that the student may use certain approved notes during a test or other assessment unless the ability to recall independently is one of the essential functions being evaluated.
11. Use of a Word Bank
This authorization means that the student may use an approved word bank during a test or other assessment unless the ability to recall independently is one of the essential functions being evaluated.
12. Preferred Seating
This authorization means that the student may sit in class in the location that best suits the student's visual, listening or other learning needs.
13. Personal Aides in Class
This authorization means that the student may attend class with a personal aide who provides, not educational accommodations, but personal assistance to the student. The aide provides personal services that the College is not required by law to provide, such as helping maintain focus, reduce anxiety and assist with mobility or restroom issues. An aide should provide such services without disrupting class activities.